Penumbra: Don’t Be a Baby (part 4 of 4)

Part 4 of 4Mark felt his brain begin to stiffen like his muscles. Every thought slowed. 

It was his fault.

W-

He killed her.

W-

It was all his fault. He was a killer just like his father. He was forced to stare into that blackness. Unable even to stop seeing or hearing his torment. His failure started straight back at him. He was going to die. A failure and a killer. 

He was just like him. 

Then in that blackness, Mark saw a flash of white.

When.

For a moment something had appeared reflected in those eyes. 

When I-

It didn’t matter he was still a failure. He was still a killer. He didn’t deserve to be Penumbra. 

When I raise-

The white thing perched somewhere behind him. 

It was pointless.

It was a dove.

He would die.

A dove perched on some fireplace and stared into the darkness and through the darkness it reached out to Mark. 

When I raise my shield.

Words came back to him. They pushed back on the darkness like a candle being lit. Words that he knew. Words he had spoken a thousand times. 

When I raise my shield,

I raise it to defend-

It’s pointless. 

You killed her.

When I raise my shield,

I raise it to defend His every subject.

It’s futile.

He couldn’t survive this.

Mark felt the darkness push back on him as those words came back. 

When I raise my shield,

I raise it to defend His every subject.

Loyal and disloyal.

The words grew to a boom within his head. His vision widened just slightly. 

When I raise my shield,

I raise it to defend His every subject.

Loyal and Disloyal.

When I raise my blade,

I raise it against his every enemy

Within and without.

It doesn’t matter. 

He couldn’t win. 
When I raise my shield,

I raise it to defend His every subject.

Loyal and Disloyal.

When I raise my blade,

I raise it against his every enemy

Within and without.

When I raise my light

I raise it to lead all His subjects to Him,

Skeptic and Fanatic.
He still killed her.

He was no better.

It was easier to give up.

Mark pushed back. He willed the oath to a shout within his mind. He shouted with the force of thunder. 

When I raise my shield,

I raise it to defend His every subject

Loyal and disloyal
When I raise my blade,

I raise it against his every enemy

Within and without


When I raise my light

I raise it to lead all His subjects to Him,

Skeptic and Fanatic
I do pledge myself to defend His people at all costs. 

To defend the weak

To strengthen the strong

To love Justice

To grant mercy

From this night until the last night of my watch,

Until my King calls me to Lay my blade down

Or my enemies pry it from my cold dead hands

I will be His sword

I will be His people’s shield

I will reflect His Light

From this night until the last night of my watch,

I am Penumbra!” With the last words Mark felt his lips move and the sensation rushed back to his arms. The blade sang straight down, and cut straight through the monster. It squealed as it dissipated into a black dust. Mark turned for the parrot but it flew full speed away. The sound of a window breaking followed. Mark looked out of the window to barely see a slight bit of red in the stormy sky. 

Without any warning lightning struck. Not a dozen yards from where he was there appeared a fantastic column of white light. The thunder tossed him backwards and blew in the window beside him. He blinked as his vision went white and his ears rang. 

Fear not.

When all his faculties were yet again with him, Mark was flat on his back in bed. His muscles ached, he still had all his clothes on, and the room was soaked. He looked at a note that seemed to have been scribbled hastily and dropped on his desk. 

You did alright.

-E

Mark felt the smile crawl up his face and then fell right off. 
By TKH Hamilton 

Leave a Reply

